Can I have your autograph?

Sure.

It’s an amazing feeling to have someone want your autograph for a work of fiction. Now that I’ve gotten to autograph a few copies, I hope that I become successful enough that I continue to be asked to sign my work(s). If I ever become jaded enough to hate this part of the writer/reader relationship, I hope all of my inspiration dries up and I end up writing standardized test questions for some demonic school board.

For a long time, I have been in awe of comic book creators. Although Comic con in San Diego has recently become a Hollywood weekend destination, comic book conventions have a long history of existence. In stuffy hotel conference rooms or at convention centers, writers and artists meet their fans. The fans get to meet the face behind their beloved characters. They share their favorite moments, their ire and even commission personal pieces of art.

I’ve been to author readings and Q&A sessions and while enjoyable, what I’ve seen at the comic conventions blows me away. The professionals sit and stand in awe of each other. They give each other pieces of original art or other gifts because they respect their work. They are overjoyed when a fan comes dressed as their character (I would love to see readers’ interpretations of what Flick or Trollman look like from my own novel). They take pictures and share them with the world. By the end of the day, you (as a fan) realize that getting an autograph is like a time stamp on that glorious moment you spent with someone you respect.

They obviously love what they do and wouldn’t want it any other way.

I know that fiction writers can feel the same way towards their fans. I know that similar events take place for literary creators, but I want to take my cue from the comic book world. Once I’ve written a piece and said “I’m done,” the rest of the tale is created by the reader. It’s theirs now to love and cherish. An autograph is a final bond between author and reader on a job well done. A story is never finished until a reader says so. I will always respect that.

I hope some day I get to meet a million fans and sign just as many books.

One thought on “Can I have your autograph?

Leave a Reply

